From Moodboard to Now

Since creating the last moodboard my attention was turned towards assets. I was up for the role of creating the character but Jordan got Erica on board and she was creating 2D Concept art for the character so in the scrum I decided to focus on asset creation.

I started to model a football boot which will be needed for the characters. It’s going quite well but I am stuck at one part if it which I think I have a way around it. Besides that, we are creating the Japanese stadium firstly so Jordan has asked for a Neon themed map, taking that into consideration I used my knowledge of Substance Painter in order to make assets look more appealing especially with emissive layers.

First completed asset was the UFO, I modelled this in Maya originally from a sphere. It was simple to model, it just took a few tweaks such as extruding faces, adding bevels and such. Once modelling I then UV unwrapped it, this took longer than modelling as it was a strange shape and needed more focus on how the UV’s will work. Once imported into Substance Painter it was just messing about with what looks good from there. I ended up with a glass middle piece and an emissive under glow for the UFO.

Leave a comment